IFAA/NFAA Rules and Competitions

Most of the archery events in the US are organized by either the IFAA (International Field Archery Association) or the NFAA (National Field Archery Association). The competitions concluded by them are usually divided into three separate rounds. They are the field, hunter, and animal rounds.

Let’s take a loser look at each of the events and what is unique about them:

Field Rounds

Field rounds are organized at an even distance of about 80 yards each. While yard is the common term, some of the shorter targets are counted in feet instead. The inner ring is black in color surrounded by two white middle rings and then two more black rings forming the outer circle.

They also use four face sizes that are placed at different distances. Archers hitting the inner ring are awarded 5 points, middle-ring gets them 4 points, and the outer black rings get them 3 points.

Hunter Rounds

Because hunter rounds mimic real-life scenarios, distances are not evenly marked. They are uneven up to 64 meters or 70 yards. The face of the target is all black with a white bullseye. Scores are calculated on a similar basis. If the participant is a child, the distance is 30 yards and for young hunters, it is 50 yards.

Animal Rounds

Mimicking somewhat the hunter rounds, targets are placed at uneven distances in the animal round. Instead of faces though, the target is a 2D animal. Hence the name of the rounds. Scores are calculated differently here.

The archer must move forward to station 1 and shoot and if his arrow misses the target, he will move to 2nd and then 3rd as required. Scores are calculated as vital in 20, 16, and 12 while in non-vital, they are 18, 14, and 10.

Each of these rounds is unique and offer a different level of competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *